Cricket 2016

Blundell’s has a long tradition of playing cricket and was recently recognised as one of the top 100 schools for the sport by The Cricketer magazine. It is the main sport played at Blundell’s during the summer term and offers a great opportunity for all pupils to be involved, develop their skills and enjoy this great game, whatever their standard.

Cricket Top 100 2017The cricket staff and facilities here are quite outstanding; Blundell’s boasts six cricket pitches, six all-weather cricket nets and twelve grass nets. As a school we play around 150 matches per season and have eleven boys’ teams across all age groups, as well as girls’ teams. We have a good number of girls playing in the boys’ teams and they are selected on merit. There are A and B teams for Year 7 through to Year 10, while the seniors represent the 1st, 2nd or 3rd XIs. We play block fixtures against other major West Country schools and undertake tours abroad at various age groups on a regular basis. We have strong links with both the Devon Cricket Board and Somerset County Cricket Club and thus there is a clear player pathway for cricketers of exceptional ability.

Blundell’s School plays a prominent role in supporting cricket in Devon by hosting matches for both boys and girls at all age levels from U11s through to the full Devon County XIs (men and women). During the winter months, local club sides use our indoor nets during the evenings. Many Blundell’s pupils are connected with a club side and continue playing cricket during the holiday periods and once they have left school. Well-known old boys who have gone on to play cricket professionally include Vic Marks (Somerset and England), Hugh Morris (Glamorgan and England) and Jeremy Lloyds (Somerset and Gloucestershire), while many have played Minor County Cricket for Devon and others have trained in the Somerset Cricket Academy as well as represented Somerset 2nd XI.

For more details about cricket at Blundell’s, please see the video recorded by The Cricketer about Blundell’s as one of the top 100 schools for the sport.

Cricket 2016

Captain of Cricket: Dan Pyle OH/W

1st X1 v Opposition Result Batting Bowling
Filton Academy L by 67 runs 142 for 9 209
E Blackmore 4-?
Millfield B/A Won by 109 runs 298 for 5
D Pyle 136
J Lockwood 80
M Crowe 50*
189 all out
D Pyle 6-22
Taunton School Draw 259
J Lockwood 84
D Pyle 43
C Cabburn 30
B Oliphant-Thompson 30

259 for 9
J Aldridge 4-?
West Buckland      
Wellington 20/20 L by 117 runs 60 for 8 177 for 8
T Mortiboys 4-?
Plymouth College      
MCC L by 125 runs 116 241 for 6
Wellington School L by 2 wkts 185
M Crowe 40
T Knott 30
186 for 8
M Crowe 3-
D Pyle 3-
Bristol Grammar      
King's Taunton 20/20 L by 7 wkts 72 73 for 3
Devon Dumplings      
Sherborne Won by 9 wkts 99 for 1
C Fitzroy 36*
G Kitson 34*
98 all out
Exeter School L by 28 runs 123 All out
T Knott 50
H Eaton 4-27
Clifton College Abandoned 212
D Pyle 76
Queen's Taunton 20/20 Won by 51 runs 186 for 4
D Pyle 75
J Lockwood 48
135 for 6
Heathcoat CC Won by 10 runs D Pyle 62 D Pyle 3-?
LJL 4- ?
Truro School Won by 6 wkts 167 for 4
D Pyle 74*
S Maunder 26
166 for 8
D Pyle 5-12
O Mitchell 2-24
King's Taunton L by 173 runs 116
D Pyle 63
289 for 9
Opposition 2nd 3rd U15A U14A U13A U12A
Millfield L L by 9 wkts L by 149 rs L by 7 wkts    
Taunton School L L by 33 rs Won by 8 wkts L by 30 runs   Won by 4 wkts
Exeter School     L by 4 wkts L by 78 runs Won by 9 runs Draw!
Filton Academy            
Millfield           L by 90 runs
Wellington Sch' Won Won L   L by 8 wkt  
St Peter's Exeter         Won by 14 runs  
Allhallows Prep            
West Buckland            
King's Hall         L 122 rs Won by 7 wkts
Bristol Grammar            
Queen's Taunton           Won by 35 runs
The Downs            
Clifton College canc' L by 2 wkts L by 76 runs      
Uffculme     L by 6 wkts Won by 6 wkts   Won by 1 wkt
Sherborne     L by 3 runs      
King's Taunton   L by 8 wkts L by 10 wkts L by 9 wkts    
The Common Rm   L        
Opposition Gentlemen's X1 U15B U14B U13B U12B
Millfield Won by 7 wkts L by 8 wkts      
Taunton School Won by 69 runs L by 30 rs   Won by 60 runs L by 20 runs
West Buckland          
King's Hall       L by 32 runs L by 13 rs
King's Taunton   L by 8 wkts      
Millfield Prep          
Plymouth College A          
Exeter Cathedral A          
St Peter's, Exeter A     L by 6 wkts    
Bristol Grammar          
King's Taunton          
Trinity A          
Exeter School       Won by 2 runs Won by 9 wkts
Queen's Taunton         Won
Clifton College         Won by 7 wkts
Opposition 2016 50's 100's 5 Wickets
Truro School D Pyle 74*   D Pyle 5-12
West Buckland      
King's Taunton D Pyle 63    
Plymouth College      
Taunton School J Lockwood 84
G Kitson
  R Hartley 8-4
Allhallows Prep      
Filton Academy      
Exeter School T Knott 50
G Kitson 60
King's Hall H Huggett 56*    
Bristol Grammar      
Heathcoat CC D Pyle 62    
Sherborne M Owens 55    
Clifton College D Pyle 76 J Le Gassick 100  
Millfield J Lockwood 80
W Smith 62*
M Crowe 50*
D Pyle 136 D Pyle 6-22
M Owen 5-40
Queen's Taunton D Pyle 75   F Muirhead 6-9




Cricket archive: Captains | 2001 | 02 | 03 | 04 | 05 | 06 | 07 | 08 | 09 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16