Tennis is the major sport for girls in the summer term. For the boys it is an option, although boys below Year 11 can only take tennis if not required for cricket.

The school has 24 astroturf courts for use in the summer term only and six tarmac courts, which are also available in the autumn term. The tarmac courts were resurfaced in 2002.

Those who play tennis in Years 9-13 do so four days per week, with matches on most Wednesdays and Saturdays for the School teams. Those in Years 7 and 8 will normally play twice a week. In addition, a number of girls’ teams have been entered in a league competition, so they have matches on other days as well.

We play against a large number of surrounding independent schools, the furthest away being Millfield and Wells. We normally play three boys’ teams – 1st, 2nd and U16; as many girls’ teams as the opposition can provide – 1st, 2nd, 3rd, U15, U14, U13 and U12; and sometimes B teams in the younger age groups.

Tennis 2018

Boys' Captain:Shun Tanaka P/W
Boys' Vice Captain:Masato Watanabe OH/W
Girls' Captain: Georgie Acland NC
Girls' Vice Captain: Eliza Roberts GH/W


Tennis archive: 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | Captains